A woman from Costa Mesa was recently arrested on two serious charges stemming from a hit-and-run accident. She is suspected to have been intoxicated when the accident occurred. Officers report that the 49-year-old driver slammed into the vehicle of a 24-year-old resident on 18th Street by Meyer Place just before 11:30 p.m., according to the Orange County Register.
The man exited his vehicle to check for damages after the first collision. Once out of his vehicle, he was hit again by the female driver and was pinned between the two vehicles. The driver in question fled the scene. The victim was transported to the hospital and treated for severe leg injuries. Luckily, officers were able to get the license plate number of the suspected driver. Officers found the car and the driver at her Costa Mesa home just before 1:30 a.m. the next day. She now faces charges of felony DUI and hit-and-run. According to court records, a woman with the same name is on probation from a 2012 DUI conviction.
Our Costa Mesa car accident attorneys understand that drivers flee the scene of an accident for a number of reasons. Most commonly, they're either under the influence or their driving privileges have already been revoked. Drivers are also likely to leave the scene of the accident if they aren't driving with the proper insurance coverage. As a matter of fact, the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety reports that 1 in 10 drivers may flee from an accident.
"The trend is troubling because it involves drivers who often willingly or knowingly flee the scene without rendering aid to the victim, making it a crime scene," said John B. Townsend II with AAA.
About 1,500 people are killed every year in the U.S. in hit-and-run car accidents. Close to 60 percent of these fatalities occur on a Friday, a Saturday or a Sunday.
"Hit and run is a cowardly and heinous act. It is an issue that should not fall beneath radar. We need to expose it and create awareness," says Sade Baderinwa in an AAA press release.
It's important to know what to do in the event of an unfortunate hit-and-run accident. It's important that you don't go running after the driver who fled the scene. It could be a dangerous move. Stay in control, remain calm and contact police -- and then an experienced personal injury attorney.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an automobile accident, contact HOWARD LAW P.C. for a free and confidential consultation to discuss your case. Call (800) 872-5925.
Safe Teen Driving in Southern California -- A Parent's Role, California Injury Lawyers, January 28, 2013
Glaucoma and Your Risks for an Auto Accident, California Injury Lawyers, January 25, 2013